Expression of the week: deixar pra lá


This week I decided to start our “Expression of the Week” secttion from the other end. The expression “deixa pra lá” in Portuguese may be expressed in a few different ways in English, so here they go:

“Deixar pra lá”

English equivalent: “let it go; never mind; get over it”.

Sample sentences:

“People said some horrible things about her, but she just let it go”.

“Can you help me with the dishes?”    “What?”   “Never mind, I’ll do them myself.”

“I can’t believe she dumped me for that guy!”  “Get over it! You’ll find a new girlfriend soon enough.”

I’m sure there are more ways to say this! If you know of any, please let me know!

Leave a comment

Filed under Expression of the Week

Leave a Reply

